The annual Myanmore Awards of Excellence in Dining and Nightlife have undergone an exciting makeover.

The 2018 Myanmore Dining and Nightlife awards are set to be the most exciting and innovative ever, with five completely new excellence-based award categories up for grabs. Using feedback received from industry and intensive research, the awards have been improved to be more streamlined and relevant to the growing needs of the dining and nightlife industry with an increased emphasis on the promotion of excellence at all levels.

For the first time ever the Myanmore Dining and Nightlife awards will focus on facilitating an environment where the attainment of excellence is supported throughout the year, not just celebrated on an annual basis. A program of excellence will be launched where award winners will be encouraged to share their knowledge with others to promote the continued improvement of standards while developing a culture and ethos of excellence throughout the whole industry.

In order to focus on the achievement of excellence the award categories will no longer consider the style of cuisine but will simply focus on the type of venue. This means, for example, that for the first time ever there will be a green (environmentally friendly) award of the year in Yangon. Members of the public will be invited to nominate their favorite venues online and also provide a short review to support their nomination. The venues from each category with the most nominations will be compiled into a shortlist, and a panel of independent expert judges will conduct thorough and undercover evaluations of these shortlisted venues, focusing their attention on three specific areas of excellence: product, environment, and service.

The Venue Excellence award categories are:

  • Restaurant of the year
  • Café of the year
  • Bar of the year
  • Myanmar food restaurant of the year
  • Local bar / beer station of the year

Six new and innovative award categories that celebrate special contributions to excellence by individuals and teams have also been developed. Nominations for these awards will come from both the public and industry and will be judged by an independent panel of industry experts.

The Special Contribution to Excellence awards categories are:

  • Chef of the year
  • Wine and spirit ambassador of the year
  • Newcomer of the year
  • Entrepreneur of the year
  • Green award of the year
  • Special award for contribution to excellence

The awards ceremony will be held at the prestigious Melia Hotel in Yangon on February 3 2018 when the new Myanmore Top 100 Dining and Nightlife Venues 2018 guidebook will also be launched. This comprehensive guide is another first in Myanmar and will contain detailed information and reviews of the top 100 dining and nightlife venues across the city, and special features focusing on the 2018 Myanmore Dining and Nightlife award winners.



Previous articleChristmas Dinners and Parties
Next articleSong to the Moon – Czech classical music concert


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here